You Are Her: Home 9 Curriculum 9 Curriculum Content 9 Curriculum – EYFS

Curriculum – EYFS


The three schools in ‘The Dales Partnership’ aim to develop a love of learning through our EYFS provision. We aim to ensure all children build on prior learning in a caring, nurturing environment which allows them to reach their full potential. Children learn by exploring, experiencing and working together to develop their skills and knowledge, preparing them for their next steps in their learning. We want our children to be independent, creative, resilient, and confident learners who are tolerant and treat others with respect and kindness.
Our schools are set in rural communities, and this is reflected within our curriculum. We take advantage of the opportunities our outside areas offer. We want our children to be fully involved in school, family and community life. We encourage our children to see themselves as a valued part of these and encourage them to begin contributing.


The Dales Partnership have small mixed age classes so the emphasis when planning the curriculum is based on clear differentiation of age appropriate skills. The aim is to help our children learn by providing stimulating activities in a caring and nurturing environment. Our curriculum provides opportunities to develop skills and knowledge from all areas of the Early Years Framework. Our accessible indoor/outdoor environment provides child-initiated learning alongside focused adult-led learning opportunities. This flexible provision enables our children to learn through play, led by their own interests.

The principles that guide our curriculum are taken from the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework.

They are grouped into 4 themes: –

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The EYFS Curriculum consists of the seven areas of Learning and Development. There are three prime and four specific areas. The three prime areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The four specific areas of learning are:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


With a thorough knowledge of our curriculum, the Early Learning goals and the children in our EYFS setting, our staff assess the children through discussion, questioning, observation, and direct teaching sessions. A record of their learning is made in class floor books, noting their progress and planning to allow for their achievements and areas for development. This is regularly shared with home and parental contributions are welcomed. Our provision and delivery of our curriculum is regularly monitored, reviewed and revisited to ensure our aims are met and the children’s knowledge and learning is secure in preparation for Year 1.